Board of Directors

We are supported by a highly experienced board of directors with broad industry knowledge.

Philip Astley-Sparke

Non-Executive Member

(Chairman) Philip Astley-Sparke has served as a member of our supervisory board since June 2015. He was previously president of uniQure Inc. from January 2013 until February 2015 and was responsible for building uniQure's US infrastructure. Mr Astley-Sparke is currently Executive Chairman and co-founder of Replimune Limited, a Company developing second-generation oncolytic vaccines. Mr. Astley-Sparke served as vice president and general manager at Amgen, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company, until December 2011, following Amgen's acquisition of BioVex Group, Inc., a biotechnology company, in March 2011. Mr. Astley-Sparke had been President and Chief Executive Officer of BioVex Group, which developed the first oncolytic vaccine to be approved in the western world following the approval of Imlygic in 2015. He oversaw the company's relocation to the U.S from the UK in 2005. Prior to BioVex, Mr. Astley-Sparke was a healthcare investment banker at Chase H&Q/Robert Fleming and qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Arthur Andersen in London. Mr Astley-Sparke has been a venture partner at Forbion Capital Partners, a venture capital fund, since May 2012 and serves as Chairman of the Board of Oxyrane, a biotechnology company.

Matt Kapusta

Executive Member

Matt Kapusta joined uniQure as our chief financial officer in January 2015 and was elected to our Management Board at the 2015 annual general meeting. In December 2016 he was appointed our chief executive officer.  Prior to joining uniQure, Mr. Kapusta was Senior Vice President at AngioDynamics from 2011 to 2014, responsible for corporate development, strategic planning and national accounts. Prior to AngioDynamics, he served as Vice President, Finance for Smith & Nephew Orthopaedics. Mr. Kapusta's career also includes more than a decade of investment banking experience focused on emerging life sciences companies. Mr. Kapusta was Managing Director, Healthcare Investment Banking at Collins Stewart, and held various positions at Wells Fargo Securities, Robertson Stephens and PaineWebber. Mr. Kapusta holds a Master of Business Administration from New York University's Stern School of Business, a Bachelor of Business Administration from University of Michigan's Ross School of Business and earned his Certified Public Accountant license in 1996 while at Ernst & Young.

Jack Kaye

Non-Executive Member

Jack Kaye is currently chairman of our Audit Committee and a member of the Compensation Committee of Dyadic International, Inc.  Mr. Kaye began his career at Deloitte LLP, an international accounting, tax and consulting firm, in 1970, and was a partner in the firm from 1978 until May 2006. At Deloitte, he was responsible for servicing a diverse client base of public and private, global and domestic companies in a variety of industries. Mr. Kaye has extensive experience consulting with clients on accounting and reporting matters, private and public debt financings, SEC rules and regulations and corporate governance/Sarbanes-Oxley matters. Prior to retiring, Mr. Kaye served as Partner-in-Charge of Deloitte’s Tri-State Core Client practice, a position he held for more than 20 years. Mr. Kaye has a Bachelor of Business Administration from Baruch College and is a Certified Public Accountant.


David Schaffer

Non-Executive Member

David Schaffer has served as a member of our supervisory board since January 2014. Dr. Schaffer is Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Bioengineering, and Neuroscience at University of California Berkeley, a position he has held since 2007, as well as Director of the Berkeley Stem Cell Center since 2011. Dr. Schaffer is also co-founder of 4D Molecular Therapeutics, a company specializing proprietary technology for gene therapy products. We entered into a collaboration and license agreement with 4D Molecular Therapeutics in January 2014. Previously, Dr. Schaffer was Assistant Professor from 1999 to 2005 and Associate Professor from 2005 to 2007 at the University of California, Berkeley Department of Chemical Engineering & Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute. He has served on the boards of the American Society for Gene and Cell Therapy and the Society for Biological Engineering. He has more than 20 years of experience in chemical and molecular engineering, and stem cell and gene therapy research, has over 165 scientific publications, and serves on 5 journal editorial boards and 5 industrial scientific advisory boards. Dr. Schaffer holds a bachelor of science degree in Chemical Engineering from Stanford University and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. We believe Dr. Schaffer is qualified to serve on our supervisory board due to his extensive relevant scientific expertise and experience in the biotechnology industry.

Paula Soteropoulos

Non-Executive Member

Paula Soteropoulos has served as a member of our supervisory board since July 2013. Ms. Soteropoulos is president and chief executive officer of Akcea Therapeutics, a position she has held since January 2015. From July 2013 to December 2014, she served as Senior Vice President and General Manager, Cardiometabolic Business and Strategic Alliances at Moderna Therapeutics Inc. Prior to this Ms. Soteropoulos worked at Genzyme Corporation, a biotechnology company, from 1992 to 2013, most recently as Vice President and General Manager, Cardiovascular, Rare Diseases. Ms. Soteropoulos holds a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering and a master of science degree in chemical and biochemical engineering, both from Tufts University, and holds an executive management certificate from the University of Virginia, Darden Graduate School of Business Administration. Ms. Soteropoulos serves on the Advisory Board for the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department of Tufts University. We believe Ms. Soteropoulos is qualified to serve on our supervisory board due to her extensive experience in the biotechnology industry.

Madhavan Balachandran

Non-Executive Member

Mr. Madhavan Balachandran serves as a member of our board since September 2017. Mr. Balachandran is a pharmaceutical industry executive and has more than 40 years of experience in manufacturing and operations. He was previously with Amgen Inc., where he served as Executive Vice President of Operations, overseeing global operations and reporting directly to the CEO. Mr. Balachandran held similar positions at Copley Pharmaceuticals Inc. and Burroughs Wellcome Co. Mr. Balachandran holds a Master's degree in Business Administration from East Carolina University, a Master's degree in Chemical Engineering from State University of New York and a Bachelor's degree in Technology from Indian Institute of Technology.

Jeremy P. Springhorn

Non-Executive Member

Dr. Jeremy P. Springhorn serves as a member of our board since September 2017. Dr. Springhorn is an industry veteran with 25 years of experience in leading scientific, business development, and corporate strategy organizations. Dr. Springhorn currently serves as Partner of Corporate Development with Flagship Pioneering and was previously at Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc., as Vice President, Corporate Development. Dr. Springhorn holds a Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Louisiana State University Medical Center and a Bachelor's degree in Chemistry and Biochemistry from Colby College.